Edition Applicable Plans
Sales Cloud
Free
Growth
Pro
Enterprise
Marketing Cloud
Free
Growth
Pro
Enterprise
Customer-for-Life cloud
Free
Growth
Pro
Enterprise

You can send an email to, assign, merge, update, and delete contacts in bulk. You can also use filters to narrow your list of contacts before you use the buttons from the bulk actions tray.  


To perform bulk actions, 

  1. Click the Contacts tab and select the contacts by clicking the checkbox beside them.

  2. Choose any one of the buttons in the tray to do the following.


Bulk email

You can use email templates to save time, placeholders to personalize the email, save the email as a bulk draft, and perhaps schedule it to be sent at a specified time. Learn more about sending bulk emails.



Assign to

This button assigns all the selected contacts to a user in your team. The user becomes the Owner of the assigned contacts. You can choose the user from the drop-down in the Assign To overlay. Alternatively, you can add users to individual contacts too.

Merge:

This button merges the selected contacts into a single record. You’d have to choose one of the selected contacts as your Primary record. The other contact records become secondary records and are deleted after their data is transferred to the primary record.

Update field

To update a field for all selected contacts, click Update field in the bulk actions tray. You can only update one field for each selection. You cannot update multiple fields all at once. 


Delete:

This button deletes all the selected contacts. It is highly recommended that you hit the Delete button only when you’re sure that you no longer need those contacts. Contacts once deleted cannot be recovered.


Bulk SMS 
Click the Bulk SMS button to compose and send SMS to all selected contacts. This brings up the compose window where you can compose an SMS by adding placeholder fields.

Add to sequence 
This button allows you to add the selected contacts to a sales sequence, or remove from an ongoing sequence. Clicking the Add Sequence button brings up a dialog box where you can choose the sequence to which the contacts need to be added and can update the same. 


To remove contacts from an ongoing sequence,
Click the button and choose ‘Remove from sequence’ to remove selected contacts from an ongoing sequence


Add tags

To update tags for all selected contacts, click Add Tag in the bulk actions tray. This allows you to update/remove tags in bulk.