TABLE OF CONTENTS
Freshchat (Freshchat) is GDPR compliant and to help our customers be GDPR compliant, we have instituted a data delete policy with which you can delete customer conversations periodically.
The deletion logic will run every morning once the policy is set up. To set up the policy, you can write to us at email@example.com with the following information:
User grouping type
This information is required for us to determine for how long you’d like to keep the data before deleting it. The default retention period is 90 days.
User Grouping type:
There are two types in which you can group users to delete data:
Regardless of the way you group your users, the user has to be created before the retention period to be included in the deletion logic.
There are two types in which you can choose to delete data:
1. Delete users along with their conversations and messages:
This process deletes all conversations and messages along with associated users. Few points to note:
If a conversation does not have any messages in the last x days (based on Retention Period), the user and all associated conversations and messages will be deleted
If a conversation has at least one message in the last x days, the user will be retained and messages that are older than x days will be deleted
If a user has one conversation with recent activity, but other conversations are older than x days, then the first conversation will be partially pruned, conversations older than x days will be completely deleted and the user will be retained
Info: In this process, all activities, events tracked, conversations, messages, images, and files uploaded by the end-user will be deleted.
2. Delete conversations and messages but retain User:
In this process, the user will be retained even if they don’t have any recent activity in the conversation. It will delete messages and conversations that are older than x days (based on Retention Period).
Info: In this process, all conversations, messages, images, and files uploaded by the end-user will be deleted.
Based on customer preference, an email will be sent to the account owner at the end of each day with a summary of the number of users/conversations/messages deleted.
When we set up the periodic deletion logic, the data will be completely wiped out from all Freshchat data stores. It is not possible to restore data once deleted