What is a default pipeline?
The most commonly used pipeline by most sales reps in the team should be set as the default pipeline. This pipeline is usually earmarked for Admin related activities such as
Data migration from another CRM
Adding deals via API
Note: Only an Admin can mark a pipeline as default for the entire account.
To mark a pipeline as default,
Go to Admin settings > Pipelines.
Click the Edit icon on the pipeline that you wish to make default.
Enable the Mark as default checkbox.
Click Save. This makes the pipeline default.
What are the different segments that get affected? - Impact
All admin ‘only’ accessible settings automatically consider this pipeline as default.
The areas to be noted are:
During migration, the multiple deal pipelines from the previous CRM get imported into your web application. If similar pipelines exist in your web application, deals are added to the corresponding pipelines. If not, new pipelines are created and the deals are migrated to it. For example, say you’re migrating from Pipedrive. And in Pipedrive you had 4 different pipelines in use. After migration, all 4 pipelines are successfully migrated with no change in the deal stages or deals.
Deal creation via API: Deals are created in the pipeline mentioned in the API code. If not specified, all deals are added to the admin default pipeline.
Deletion: All deals of the deleted pipeline are added to the 1st stage of the default pipeline
Downgrade: Only the pipeline marked as default by at the time of downgrade will be retained. Before the downgrade, say you had 2 pipelines:
Pipeline 1: New, Contacted, Demo, Negotiation, Won/Lost
Pipeline 2: New, Added to Cart, Order Placed, Payment Made, Delivered, Won/Lost
And, Pipeline 1 is set as the default one. On downgrade, only the default pipeline, i.e. Pipeline 1 exists. All deals from Pipeline 2 gets added to the ‘New’ stage of Pipeline 1.
What happens if I’ve more than 10 pipelines in my previous CRM?
During migration, your first 10 pipelines get migrated as such. All the deals from the remaining pipelines get added to the New(first) stage of the Default pipeline.